PDA

View Full Version : Employment in Australia

bernar
11-02-2015, 04:55 PM
Hi all,
i have my BSc (Hons) in refrigeration and air conditioning engineering, HND in refrigeration and air conditioning engineering, Career diploma in HVACR and also have all my City and Guilds qualifications in refrigeration and air conditioning engineering.
i want to know if i could have good employment in Australia as i am thinking of relocating from the United Kingdom to Australia. Any advice???

Rob White
11-02-2015, 05:16 PM

With those qualifications you could rule Australia :D

You certainly have all the qualifications, do you have practical
knowledge or are you a theory / design guy?

The type of work you want to do will be the biggest factor in
what qualifications are relevant. I know Australia make you
redo their equivalent qualifications and obviously you will need
a refrigerant licence of some sorts.

Best bet is to get sponsored by a company and they do it all for you.

Rob

cadwaladr
11-02-2015, 06:54 PM
Ah if I was young again ,still time I guess got a few years left

FreezerGeezer
14-02-2015, 10:22 PM
No, they don't.
Almost NO Australian employer will lift a finger to help you get your local qualifications, in my experience. You are expected to gain & maintain all licences yourself.
With your qual's, you'll almost certainly have to jump through extra testing to show you're capable of working on the tools - if that's what you want to do - as you're overqualified.
A lot depends on where you want to move to.
I recommend searching this forum, reading my & other's posts on the subject.

And remember - Australia can be a great place to live. However, it IS NOT the UK with sunshine!

cadwaladr
15-02-2015, 01:04 AM