PDA

View Full Version : Fitting a Ranco K59 Thermostat







spike47
26-01-2015, 12:38 PM
Hi Guys

I am replacing a Thermostat on my Old Electrolux F/F , the Capillary tube goes from the Thermostat then inside a plastic sleeve about 40cm long along the top of the F/F ( Attached pic ) inside the sleeve there is a cable that is a loop , it comes from junction box ( compressor ) then loops around the inside of the sleeve then back down again , the Question is what is the cable looping for ! .


cheers

spike

install monkey
26-01-2015, 08:06 PM
prevent condensation running down cable and shorting at the connections:confused: at a guess

spike47
26-01-2015, 10:28 PM
Thanks for your reply , can there be any condensation in that area ! ,everything is outside the Fridge , no refrigerant in that area .

cheers

spike

install monkey
27-01-2015, 12:23 AM
cold air from inside the cabinet -the sleeve goes to outside the cabinet, dunno, i avoid domestics like ebola

spike47
27-01-2015, 01:21 AM
Hi

Thanks again for your reply , the sleeve only lays on the top of the Unit about its about 35/40cm long , does not go inside .

thanks again

spike

mikeref
27-01-2015, 10:29 AM
UK Fridges are obviously beyond my knowledge. I'd do a resistance test on the extra wires.

Chances are....it's an off cycle defrost assisted heater. The reason for this is to have a Mechanical Thermostat restart your compressor shortly after the ice is gone.

Domestic fridges in Northern Australia have no need for these accessories.

Rob White
27-01-2015, 10:40 AM
.

You say it is a fridge / freezer?

The stat is outside the fridge completely and the phial goes into the fridge?
The sleeve has this looped white cable, is it a heater cable? Because if it it
and if it is a fridge freezer could it be used to assist in the switching on of the thing?

Is the thing an "environmentally" controlled one? By that does it have a label on
the back saying it will work in a colder ambient?

And finally what refrigerant is it on, Care 30, Care 40 maybe (propane/butane mix or propane)?

Lots of questions but some fridge freezers suffer in low ambient conditions
and to get around it they sometimes put little trace heaters inside to warm
the thing up. Traditional fridge / freezers using one stat only control the
fridge temperature and if the fridge is correct then the freezer is also. That
meant in low ambient conditions the fridge did not rise enough in temperature
to get to the cut in point (in a garage or outhouse) and if the fridge did not
get warm enough to cut in then the freezer stood at + temperatures and thawed
out.

The normal cut in temp was about +7 degC and it was fixed so the fridge manufactures
started putting small low wattage trace heaters that sometimes were wired through the
compressor winding's, when the fridge turned off the heater came on and slowly warmed
up the fridge to the cut in temperature.

Now with modern Care (flammable) refrigerants they have moved all switches (including stats)
out of the fridge and therefore they maybe more susceptible to ambient temperatures
so they put a little trace heater in with the phial to compensate.

I might be completely wrong though :D

Rob

.

spik1947
10-02-2015, 11:33 AM
Hi Rob

Thanks for your feedback , you are correct in your satement , it does indeed have a trace heater that energises when the comp goes off .

cheers

spike