PDA

View Full Version : apprentice need help getting my head around.

Wallbank
08-01-2015, 02:22 PM
Hey, so im an apprentice fridgie.. And just found this forum to help get my head around things.
I'm really enjoying tafe and the company I work for.. But I tend not to ask too many questions to not look stupid.
So I work on more cool rooms and installation of split systems.. But lately I have been in service and diagnosing faults on systems. I have got my head around pressures on cool rooms and how the gauges show the temperature of the coils and what not. Like reading the head presure and suction.

But what really gets me is inverters.. I was at a system the other day, it wasn't blowing cool air. So I went to the outdoor unit and put the gauges on it. I couldn't get my head around the pressures! It was 407 and it would ramp up and down like an inverted does.. But my supervised said don't take too much notice of the games and pressures? What the? He said because of the expansion valve there isn't really a suction or discharge pressure? How am I meant to know the coil temp? How am o meant to know if the pressures are low? Like they were at different pressures I put the high side manifold on the smaller pipe, and lower pressure on the larger pipe (usually suction?)
He said he could tell it was low by still looking?
I just don't understand.. Is there a low pressure and high? What pressures should you expect. And is it worth putting both hoses on the ports to look at the pressures

I'm just really struggling to understand the pressures of a split system.
I believe this thread and reading all these will help me become a better fridgie.

Thanks

The Viking
08-01-2015, 03:52 PM
Hi Wallbank and welcome to the forum.

First of all, the only stupid question is the one not asked.

Pressures / temperatures and their relationship in modern, inverter driven, AC systems...