PDA

View Full Version : New air con refill station smoky.







goomolique
20-07-2014, 12:19 PM
Hi there,
new to the forum.
I run a small garage and 3 days ago we got new aircon refill station.
ECK 1800.
we have done 2 cars yesterday and today my mate asked me to rechaerge his aircon.
I connected hoses etc. 2.8kg gas left but the computer tells me theres not enough to refill 525g.
Thats the first problem.
Ok sorted that then during vacuum after about 5 mins smoke start coming from compressor oil container.
At this stage i stoped the process.
Car Air con had a leak anyway as i checked on my old machine.

Any ideas?
Mike

monkey spanners
20-07-2014, 12:44 PM
It should still be under warranty after 3 days, call the company you bought it from.

I believe you would need a current F-Gas ticket to work on this anyway, just like i'm not allowed to do my own mot tests.

goomolique
20-07-2014, 12:58 PM
Hi ,
its been 3 days not years:)
yes ive got my f-gas. Weve been doing aircons for over 2 years.
Thanks

install monkey
20-07-2014, 04:03 PM
mist can be emitted- as its only 3 days old- run it to proove it works, if it sets on fire then there was another problem:p

frank
20-07-2014, 05:39 PM
2.8kg in a car???? wow

What is it a HUMMER?

joe-ice
20-07-2014, 05:44 PM
If you are pulling gas through your vac pump it will be smokey .

goomolique
20-07-2014, 08:41 PM
Its 2.8k in the bottle but when i choose to charge the car with 525g it says its not enought in the bottle.?

Tayters
20-07-2014, 10:12 PM
Think the Robinair one I used yonks back you had to have a minimum of 5kg on the scales before it would let you charge a car. tried to fool it once to save recharging the machine when regassing an Omega. Didn't work, ran out of love juice.
Smoke is either, er, smoke or oil mist which as da monkey or Joe Ice explain is refrigerant or she's about to go boom! Perhaps there is a gas ballast valve on the vac pump which is open?

Cheers,
Andy.

Troylee
24-07-2014, 03:28 AM
Hi! I'm new here! I've bought my air con last week and it seems like it doesn't work properly. I tried to call the operators where I bought it but after a day, seems like nothing happened. Is there any tools for repairing it on my own that can buy in any URL="http://www.thegreenbook.com/products/hardware-manufacturers/"]http://www.thegreenbook.com/products/hardware-manufacturers/]hardware suppliers?[/URL] Maybe I can resolve it all by myself.

Troylee
24-07-2014, 03:31 AM
Hi! I'm new here! I've bought my air con last week and it seems like it doesn't work properly. I tried to call the operators where I bought it but after a day, seems like nothing happened. Is there any tools for repairing it on my own that can buy in any hardware stores? Maybe I can resolve it all by myself. I tried to look online until I see this http://www.thegreenbook.com/products/hardware-manufacturers/ but if you have more suggestions, that would be highly appreciated!