PDA

View Full Version : r407c







ishtiaq ali
18-06-2014, 12:45 PM
can i charge r407c in previous r22 ac unit

Tony
18-06-2014, 12:57 PM
Hi ishtiaq ali,

the oil may be a problem - as it was using R22, it probably has mineral oil in it.

R407C will not work with the mineral oil - it has to have synthetic oil (POE).

Check what oil is in the unit.

FreezerGeezer
18-06-2014, 02:15 PM
If it's mineral oil, you'll need to do a number of oil changes until the mineral oil content is acceptable (acceptable depends on the oil manufacturer).
You'll lose about 5% capacity with the R407c.
Yes, it's do-able, it was a common retrofit when I lIved in the UK.

Rob White
18-06-2014, 03:06 PM
.

It is do-able but also check any seals inside the system.
If there are any valves or fittings that have a seal on it,
be aware that the seal might not stand up to the new
refrigerant and oil mixture.

Regards

Rob

.