PDA

View Full Version : R134a,R407c,R22 Comparison

chahine999
04-04-2006, 11:57 PM
I am a contractor operating in Saudi Arabia and need to know equipment cost impact for the same capacity.

1-Screw Chillers air cooled using R134a versus R407c

2-Package Units using R 22 versus R 134a

3-Package Units using R 22 versus R 407c

4-DX Package Units using R 134a versus R 407c

Which of the options with the matching Refrigerent apply best for high Ambient temperatures + High Humidity O.A. Temp..

Same question but for high ambient + low wet bulb O.A. temp.

Which of the above will be the industry standard in the future and why.

Appreciate your professional input.

Chahine999

NoNickName
05-04-2006, 10:01 AM
All air cooled equipment, either chillers or conditioners, for middle east is recommended to be R134a for reducing the service pressure.
The industry standard in the future, for EU, will not be in F-gas. USA and USA-friendly countries, like UAE, will probably keep polluting the environment with R22 until dawn of the humankind, though major chiller manufacturers are sponsoring R134a.
Humidity has no influence on the choice of refrigerant, because air cooled condensers work based on dry bulb, not on wet bulb.
DX systems installed in humid rooms are not recommended (by me). I prefer to suggest clients for chilled water coil systems, in these cases, in order to prevent too much condensate or risk of freezing on the coil surface.

US Iceman
05-04-2006, 02:26 PM
DX systems installed in humid rooms are not recommended (by me). I prefer to suggest clients for chilled water coil systems, in these cases, in order to prevent too much condensate or risk of freezing on the coil surface.

How does the volume of condensate change if the coil is DX or chilled water?

If both are at the same temperature and operating at the same conditions, I suspect the volume of condensate will be similar.