PDA

View Full Version : how to make aquarium chiller ?

ame
29-03-2006, 03:34 PM
hello
i am an aquarium hobbyist facing a problem of overheating of my aquarium water from two heat sources.1 the climate in tropical india (mumbai) is warm and in summers we have 32 C and above room temperature. 2. the heat generated by metal halide lighting for my aquarium.( to grow aquatic plants)
i need to keep my aquarium temp at 24 C and the volume of water is 400 litres approx.
i request members to guide me in building a chiller to serve my cooling requirements.
please share your expertise to help me.
thanks
ame

frank
29-03-2006, 04:26 PM
hello
i am an aquarium hobbyist facing a problem of overheating of my aquarium water from two heat sources.1 the climate in tropical india (mumbai) is warm and in summers we have 32 C and above room temperature. 2. the heat generated by metal halide lighting for my aquarium.( to grow aquatic plants)
i need to keep my aquarium temp at 24 C and the volume of water is 400 litres approx.
i request members to guide me in building a chiller to serve my cooling requirements.
please share your expertise to help me.
thanks
ame

Would it make more sense to maintain the room at 24C with air conditioning so that both the occupants and the fish tank benefit?

NoNickName
29-03-2006, 05:33 PM
Would it make more sense to maintain the room at 24C with air conditioning so that both the occupants and the fish tank benefit?

I don't think so. Keeping an aquarium cool would require few dozens of watts, keep an entire room cool would take some hundreds of them.

I would suggest a ventilated peltier cell glued onto one of the glasses. You will be able to keep the aquarium cool with 50 to 200watts with a DC power supply (depending on the size of aquarium.

star882
02-04-2006, 05:11 PM