PDA

View Full Version : where to start...

dpr1974
02-06-2014, 09:19 PM
let me apologize as this is a bit long, also not sure if it's in the right section.
So, i'm a domestic service engineer of 18 years. but only recently decide to look into regassing fridges/freezer etc. all the units will be r600a. however i am having trouble finding precise answers, maybe i am not searching with the right phrases? also i should say that i have no idea about this, which is why i'm here to learn hence the stupid and maybe obvious questions.
firstly manifold gauges. why are the ones for r600a more expensive then others like r134? are they interchangeable? or are the dials different?
i was speaking to a collage and he said that he never weighs in the gas, he feeds it in via back pressure? anyone know how that works?
what is the order from start to finish of regassing?
any do's and don't? and tips
i prefer to braze the joints as i know how to do it and to me it feels and looks a better job but again, any tips when it comes to brazing on f/f?
do the dryers (or is it dries) need to be replaced with each regass?, can they be cleaned?
and finally, i read that you can convert a r134 unit to r600a, how does that work?
any advice will be greatly received and many thanks for reading.

David

The Viking
03-06-2014, 12:32 AM
WoW,
Young man, please put the spanner down and walk away from the fridge.

Sorry to put a cap on your enthusiasm but there are some things in life which are better to learn from other's mistakes...
And some lessons just can't be learnt from online forums or the web.

First I would like to point out that the more common name for R600a is Isobutane... If you are a smoker or out camping a lot you might think of some other common uses for butane?
As a result of this you will find that even old hands in the refrigeration industry hesitates before dealing with R600a. It is not very forgiving.

The above should answer your question as to why the gauges cost more...