PDA

View Full Version : Trend supervisor cable







marc5180
12-03-2014, 07:02 PM
Gents,

I'm looking to connect my laptop to the various trend BMS around our sites in order to monitor certain parameters.
I've been told that I can use doorway http://www.doorway.co.uk in order to monitor trend systems but I need the appropriate cable.

Does anyone know what cable it is that I need in order for my laptop to communicate with the trend.
I assume one end is an RJ11 (Ethernet) which plugs into the trend module and then maybe an RS232 or USB connection to my laptop.

Does anyone know?

frank
12-03-2014, 08:26 PM
Hi Marc
You can use an RS232 to USB on the latest IQ controllers and the RS232 to RJ11 on the older controllers (IQ22x series)

Did you download the Doorway software?

marc5180
12-03-2014, 08:55 PM
Hi Marc
You can use an RS232 to USB on the latest IQ controllers and the RS232 to RJ11 on the older controllers (IQ22x series)

Did you download the Doorway software?

Hi Frank,

Yes I've downloaded the doorway software and tried to connect today with an RJ11 that was plugged into the trend but when I plugged the other RJ11 into my laptop it didn't see it.
I'm happy to buy the supervisor cable but not sure which cable I would need.

frank
12-03-2014, 09:12 PM
You don't have an RJ11 on the laptop, that's for the telephone! (I think) or network :)

The laptop has USB or RS232

marc5180
12-03-2014, 09:21 PM
I have Ethernet on the laptop (thought that was RJ11)
My new laptop doesn't have RS232 only USB

install monkey
13-03-2014, 07:00 PM
maplins do a serial to usb converter cable- about 20 quid- will give you a rs232 connector

install monkey
13-03-2014, 07:39 PM
i made a cable using lead off an imi drain pump- cut 2 of the 6 connectors off the plug with a hacksaw and using 4 cores as rx and tx + - also wired a rj45 plug on too for newer stuff- but im a tight manc - bet u bought yours ;)

marc5180
13-03-2014, 08:44 PM
I've got one of those serial converters from maplin, they work really well. But I put a receipt in for it :D

That can't work as a supervisor cable that you made can it?

install monkey
13-03-2014, 08:50 PM
did for the old trend stuff that had the 4 pin connections outstations used to have the updown software- allowed you to view sensors,switches,knobs etc