PDA

View Full Version : Residential ducted system advise needed

kiwisteve74
06-03-2014, 09:20 AM
Hi guys

i have over 15 years experience in the service and installation of split system air conditioners, however I have done little in the way of ducted systems and on the occasions I have installed them the system has either been spec'd by an air flow engineer or the ducting has been installed by a separate contractor. I have been given an older Mitsubishi Electric SEZ-KD60VA unit including plenums but I'm a little unsure on ducting, supply and air return sizing. I intend heating 3 small bedrooms in my own home and this is what I have.

air supply plenum = 3 x round 200mm spigots.
air return plenum = 2 x oval 355 x 325 spigots with adjustable baffles and 1 x 100mm fresh air spigot.

my question is, will these plenums do the job? how do I calculate the size of the return air grill? Is it crucial or can I use the baffles to fine tune? I assume that my air supply outlets will be 200mm items as per the plenum? Is there a calculation I should be doing for flow rates etc?

Any advise would be much appreciated

thanks

steve

frank
06-03-2014, 01:58 PM
Hi Steve

Looking at at the data sheet for your model http://www.mitsubishielectric.com.au/assets/LEG/MEE07K559_W.pdf, it's got an airflow of 640CFM or 0.3m3/s in new money.

With 3 x 200dia spigots this airflow will be 0.1m3/s in each duct giving a velocity of 3.18m/s...nice and quiet.

The unit can only cope with 50pa external resistance, so you will have to keep your duct lengths as short and bend free as possible. Use insulated flexible duct, as the ducts will sweat in cooling mode.