PDA

View Full Version : Replacing a R22 based compressor with a R134a one







Vivek Pandey
28-01-2014, 02:03 PM
Hi,

I have a condensing unit that runs a compressor with R22 refrigerant. I want to replace that with a compressor that would work on R134a compressor. What changes (if any) should be done in the refrigeration circuit?

P.S. I understand that the expansion valve would have to be replaced.

Thank you.

devancrockett
22-05-2014, 10:39 AM
It will be good if you take help of any good technician, as they are the one who can help you out and its not possible to give solution without seeing it.

mbc
23-05-2014, 04:15 AM
to choose new compressor the cooling capacity of new one should be same and look for condenser capacity .
be sure there is not oil inside pipes and oil separator and ....
change TX.( expansion valve)
change fitter driers and put new one.

FreezerGeezer
23-05-2014, 10:18 AM
You will probably need to do a number of oil changes once the new system is up & running to get rid of the mineral oil - I'm assuming the R22 is running on mineral oil, not POE (it's quite common here for R22 systems to have POE oil). It's just possible that your pipes may need replacing as well, if the velocities with the new compressor etc. don't match.
You may also find that the heat exchangers are the wrong size for the duty using R134a. I'm no expert in this area, so hopefully someone who is can offer more advice.

Why do you want to change from R22 to R134a?