PDA

View Full Version : Question about retrofit using Dupont Isceon MO49 (R413)

mariano_vina
12-12-2013, 02:57 PM
Hi there!
My Name is Mariano, from Argentina, i'm a hobbyist enthusiast in all car electronic related and now i'm working on refrigeration (AC systems).
Don't know if this is the correct place for this thread, but i couldn't find a specific one for car related air conditioning.

My car is an older 1993 Renault 21 with an Sanden TRF-90 scroll compressor based AC system. Original complete system uses R12 with a load charge of 0,95Kg.
Since a long time ago, try to get R12 in my country seems to be a nightmare so i was searching for a specific replacement and i've found my new friend: Isceon MO49 (R413).

Into the retrofit, orings, oil and the cleaning of the evaporator and condenser (sorry if the last 2 are not correctly writed) were included. The system was putted under full vacuum and it's leak free, and after a complete reading of all the Isceon's PDFs i have started to put the gas on the circuit.

I was read that...
- Must put into liquid phase and not over the compressor.
- Work pressure is higher than R12, so they would suggest to use between 20-25% less charge compared to R12. I have use only 0,6Kg.
- Compatible with all oils, including mineral: i have use the synthetic for R134a.

Ok, the results are:
- Between 2000 and 3000 RPM (car running with load), extremly cold air into the car, when ambient temperature is between 26°C and 30°C (seriusly, in several times i have to put it off).
- Freeze sensor cuts compressor when air temp goes to 0°C (it works fine).
- High pressure sensor start the fans at high speed when pressure rise at 300lbs (starts earlier compared with R12, but seems to work fine).
- Engine temp. is a little bit lower than normal (pretty fine).

But, in an ambient temperature between 32° and 39°C (last temp. measured past Sunday on my country):