PDA

View Full Version : Freezer not working on Hotpoint Mistral FF71/91







Triggaaar
29-11-2013, 02:02 PM
Hi

I've searched for what my be the cause of my problem, and it seems that it's often the case that the Fridge section of these machines stops working. My case seems to have been the opposite, where the Freezer started warming up, but the Fridge stayed cold, and sometimes even frozen.

Is this likely to be because the Fridge Thermostat has failed, causing all the effort to go to the Freezer, not the Fridge?

Since this problem started, the FF may have got worse (perhaps due to extra strain caused by the initial problem). I'm not sure whether to try and replace the Fridge Thermostat and see what happens, of to get an engineer in (if so, I don't know where to find one).

Many thanks for any help you may be able to offer.
Mike

PS - I took the freezer shelves out, and removed the back panel, and there was no ice in there causing a problem.

sedgy
29-11-2013, 05:49 PM
hi trigaaaaaaaar,
it could be the stats broken and its stuck in the defrost mode?
you may have to look in the yellow pages for refrigeration eng ,= sedgy

tonto33
29-11-2013, 08:04 PM
Turn appliance off at the mains, press and hold SAVE and switch on at mains and release SAVE.
The sequence will now start -
Evap defrost heater will activate for 10secs, then
Gutter heater 10secs, then
F/F LED display 10 secs, then
Evap fan 10 secs.

If a fault is found, the following error codes will apply -

E1 - Freezer thermister o/c
E2 - Freezer thermister s/c
E3 - Fridge thermister o/c
E4 - Fridge thermister s/c
E7 - Evaporator thermister o/c
E8 - Evaporator thermister s/c
EA - No feedback from baffle motor switch
EB - fridge baffle motor running constantly
EE - Defrost heater timed out.

Triggaaar
30-11-2013, 10:56 AM
Thanks guys.

I'll give that second option a go, and see what happens.

Triggaaar
02-12-2013, 03:59 PM
Turn appliance off at the mains, press and hold SAVE and switch on at mains and release SAVE.
The sequence will now start - It didn't. The FF had been off for a while, so I held SAVE, switched on the mains, released SAVE, and the FF just switched on - no messages of any kind.

Triggaaar
02-12-2013, 04:13 PM
Ah, there doesn't seem to be an Edit facility here. The forum could do with some 'thanks' buttons too, for those of you always helping others.
It didn't. The FF had been off for a while, so I held SAVE, switched on the mains, released SAVE, and the FF just switched on - no messages of any kind.I tried again, but just held on to SAVE for a while longer after switching on. This time the display cycled through some options, and then within a minute, the display went back to standard (showing the temperature), with the FF on. No error codes.

So if there's no error code, what is likely to be the problem?

Many thanks for the help, it's much appreciated.

Triggaaar
02-12-2013, 08:17 PM
So 4 hours after switching it back on, this is where I'm at:

Error codes = none.
Fridge = 13 degrees.
Freezer = 0 degrees (although it did say it was less earlier)
Motor not running, as FF seems to think it's cold enough.

Do you think I should replace any thermostats, and if so, which ones?

Thanks

Triggaaar
03-12-2013, 05:16 PM
Any advice? I'm going to order a thermistor or 3 - do I want the Fridge, Freezer, or Evaporator/Fridge one?

Thanks

sedgy
16-12-2013, 08:03 PM
read post number 2

Triggaaar
18-12-2013, 12:14 AM
It wasn't the thermistors. It was the pipes being covered in dust and muck, and the fan the cools them not working.