PDA

View Full Version : How critical are circut lengths when using a distributor?

kengineering
25-02-2006, 02:15 AM
I am building a very large ice pan for a sushi bar. It will require many circuts. Do to its unusual shape, it looks as though it will be difficult to measure the tubing to establish circuts of equal lengths. Any help on layout would be appreciated and exactly how critical is it to have equal circut runs? I have buit single circut ice pans with good results so I have some although limited experience in the concept. I have found that up to 100 feet of 3/8" tubing is fine as a single.

If it were to be unbalanced as follows; Circut 1 =60 feet, 2= 65 feet, 3= 70 feet
would this cause a great effect on the TEV's performance? Ken

US Iceman
25-02-2006, 04:10 AM
If it were to be unbalanced as follows; Circuit 1 =60 feet, 2= 65 feet, 3= 70 feet
would this cause a great effect on the TEV's performance?

Yes it will.

The circuit with 70 feet will have a greater pressure loss. The circuit with 60 feet of length will have the lowest pressure loss.

The unequal circuit length will cause a poor distribution of liquid refrigerant and result in the TXV "hunting". The evaporator superheat will never stabilize and continue to overfeed and underfeed refrigerant into the evaporator.

If you have an unusual pan geometry you will need to find a circuit layout that meets the equal length criteria.

arkay
25-02-2006, 07:59 AM
Hi Iceman,

What would you advise in the given case?
Do we go with 3 TXV's, one for each circuit?

Andy W
25-02-2006, 08:14 AM
Hi Iceman,

What would you advise in the given case?
Do we go with 3 TXV's, one for each circuit? I was just about to say the same, also are you using EPR valves or do you just let it run constantly. I would be interested to see a picture of a finished item as well as an evaporator layout diagram. How do you calculate the duty of it to size the condensing unit out of interest?

Peter_1
25-02-2006, 09:17 AM