PDA

View Full Version : Fan motors

skyesparky
23-08-2013, 12:48 PM
Hi Guys, Hoping you can help. A friend of mine who runs a shop has been having problems with a Koxka? display unit. Around six months ago the 4 motors packed up due to the drain being blocked and water getting in the motors. A local engineer had a look and replaced the original motors with elco replacements. The originals were 34w and the replacements are only 18w. Engineer said that replacement 34w motors wouldn't physically fit. (apparently the originals had a much shallower depth)

The problem now is that the motors just aren't pulling the temp down enough. We have tried to find exact replacements but to no avail. These are the motors that are in place now http://www.ryanairconspares.com/motor-fridge-rymfit-watt-multi-universal-refrigerator-p-817.html

The original engineer is not willing to help at all and took the originals with him (hence why ive been asked, im not an engineer but a sparky)

I cant find a 34w motor with the same depth as the one shown above. Any help would be much appreciated.

passandscore
23-08-2013, 01:09 PM
You could always try contacting Koxka's sales office and ask them. They should be able to assist you.

Contact info is on the last page of the provided link.
http://knudsenkoling.dk/files/system/PDF/Koxka_Superette.pdf

r.bartlett
23-08-2013, 02:15 PM
firstly that is theft so he should be careful about not returning them. secondly why did he not replace them ??

al
23-08-2013, 07:20 PM
I've not come across such a large motor fitted to an evaporator except in a cold room. Koxxa is your best bet for an original replacement. Just playing devils advocate, the blades are on the right way and spinning in the right direction? Is there something else wrong that it is not cooling?

alec

Rob White
23-08-2013, 10:13 PM

You say it happened six months ago?

Did it work OK after the fans were fitted and now doesn't?