PDA

View Full Version : Coolmaster CU200, leaking

Tycho
23-02-2006, 12:51 AM
Need some help from you lesser beings who deal with these small "wanna be" cooling units :D

did that hurt? sorry :)

ok, all jokes aside.

I have no experience with small compact cooling units, other than when some relative asking me to look at their fridge/freezer I give them the "buy a new one, it's cheaper"

My whole family has been bugging me now for weeks to take a look at my aunts "cooling cabinet" it's a cabinet fitted in a corner, not quite walk in but almost.

the cooling unit is a Coolmaster CU200, it's out of production and a new cabinet costs in the range of $2000 or £2300, so I broke down and said I'd have a look at it :/

anyways.

the unit wont hold a vacuum, get it down to 10 mbar (cant get it lower) and in two minutes after I shut the valve for the pump it rises to over 150mbar, so there is a leak, and it's large (me thinks).

so I pressurize it with nitrogen at 10 bar, and in 24 hours it drops to 9.9 bar.

I've gone over it with soapy water, halogas (the propane thingymajigg) detector and a beeper (the electronic beeper that goes off if there is a leak within three miles), and nothing.

should I just recharge it and tell them to call me when it stops cooling (or starts icing up) again, or call it a gonner?

I was thinking about submerging the whole thing in water, but that means stripping off all the electrics...

do you have any tips?

I have heard rumours off some kinda stuff you mix with the ***** to seal small leaks (something along the line of the stuff you put in your cars radiator), but cant find anything on the net.

all help greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Tycho

frank
23-02-2006, 10:12 AM
the unit wont hold a vacuum, get it down to 10 mbar (cant get it lower) and in two minutes after I shut the valve for the pump it rises to over 150mbar, so there is a leak,

Sounds like a leak or a fault with the vacpump