PDA

View Full Version : AC tropicalisation modification help

ymfox
21-08-2013, 10:36 PM
Good evening gents.

I need some expert technical advice please:

I built a motor-home on a 7,5 ton Mercedes chassis. It now measures 9 metres long x 2,4 metres wide x 3,9 metres high. I have 6 x 250 watt solar panels plus a pure sine wave inverter and all the paraphernalia to go with it. I am going out to the middle East where the temperatures are between 40 and 50 degrees C. I have a Hitachi inverter split A/C that is designed to function till 42 degrees C. I am looking at options to tropicalise my AC. I'm not sure the best way to go about it and am looking for your advice please. I have an idea in mind, but it may be far off the mark as I've no experience designing AC systems... Install an in-line sub-condenser (approx 1/4 to 1/3 the size of the original) the fan motor for which is speed controlled via an HP pressure sensor??

Am I anywhere near the mark or just plain loony?

Best regards

Yasin

install monkey
21-08-2013, 10:50 PM
leave it and prey the ambient is under 40 deg
otherwise spray water on condenser
give the mrs something to do whilst she's gettin a tan:D

The Viking
22-08-2013, 12:35 AM
Yasin,

It all depends on what experience / expertise you either got or have access to...

Yes you could put a second condenser in the system, you could also replace the existing condenser with a larger one or even beef up the fan to increase the airflow across the condenser. All these solutions got their own limitations and disadvantages, the main limitation for all these solutions is likely to be that they need to be designed by someone experienced in doing so and the system modified by an engineer with a F-gas ticket (but so does the installation of the rest of your system)

The easy option is to do what Mr Monkey says, water spray.