PDA

View Full Version : What is the correct way to "top up" gas in a system

teejay711
13-08-2013, 11:20 AM
Hi,
I am new to the refrigeration game so please don't laugh at my question.

I have a system that is low on gas, 6 years old with R22.
The customer wants me to keep the system running for a few months then replace but it is low on gas.

If i was to top up the gas what is the correct way to do it. I am assuming I should weigh out the existing gas then weigh back in again the correct amount or can i take a short cut.
Also is this legal as there is a leak somewhere in the system....

Tony

shieldcracker
13-08-2013, 12:17 PM
Tony,

The first question you need to address is the size of the leak. Is it big or small? If the leak is big it would not make any sense to top off without repairing the leak first. The legality of recharging this system would depend on how small is the leak (I am not familiar with British codes).
You can charge the system as you suggest but you need to know the total amount of charge, this is available on the equipment nameplate (only packaged/self contained equipment). For split systems you would need to check maintenance logs if they exist as the system charge is not printed in the nameplate.
Assuming you don't have the system charge information you can use the sub-cooling method for systems that have TXV and superheat method for systems that employ fixed orifice throttling devices.

teejay711
13-08-2013, 12:28 PM
Hi Shieldcracker,

Cheers, i knew the total amount is on the plate and now know that the best practice is find and repair the leak.
I think I could work out the sub-cooling method if needed.
Thank you for your reply..

Neddy
13-08-2013, 01:46 PM