PDA

View Full Version : Help with new electronic refrigerator controller !

EngiGal
20-02-2006, 05:03 AM
Hi everyone :p ,

I am a student currently doing my engineering studies and I am new to this forum. I hope you guys can help me with my project.

I know that programmable controller is sometimes hard to understand. As part of my project, I am currently researching on a new simple (no programming involved at all!) to use electronic commercial refrigeration controller for beverage coolers/refrigerated showcase.

These are some of the features I have thought to be useful:
· Automatic defrost
· Overheating condenser alarm
· Protection against irregular mains power (browns out)
· Tamper free temperature setting

Since you guys are expert in refrigeration and I have no experience at all in this area :confused: , I would like to know about your thoughts, opinions or suggestions on what features would you like to have in a controller.

Oh, one more question do you think it is important to have the controller splash proof and waterproof?

Thanks !! :)

Peter_1
20-02-2006, 07:17 AM
Hi EngiGal,

If you will later search for a job and make such a polite introduction, you will be hired :cool:

Have once a look at http://www.invensyscontrolseurope.com/InvensysControlsEurope/en/ProductsServices/Eliwell

http://www.dixell.com/page.php?sid=b1c89d4cbd9105bddba317ca70b30e21&pageid=PHOME001&m58LangNew=ENG

and the one with the largest product scale and posess now +/- 80% of the OEM market

Smart defrost in the controllers is standard

http://www.carel.com/carelcom/web/eng/mercati/refrigerazione.jsp

Smart defrost in the controllers is standard.
Overpressure of a condensor is much more important then overtemperature. Some controllers have a digital input for this overpressure.
Irregular power? What do you mean with this? If there 's an overvoltage, then not only your controller will be blown away.
Tamperfree temperature setting is available, eventually password protected.