PDA

View Full Version : Suction / Discharge Pressures On RC

gbc.heat
22-07-2013, 10:33 AM
Hi Guys ,

I'm new to this game .

I went out to service a split Ducted system Fujitsu Inverter AOT45LJBYL . After thoroughly cleaning the coils, filters etc I stuck my gauges on the unit . Standing pressure was about 1200 kpa . I turned on the unit and noticed that the suction was around 1900 kpa and the discharge was around 2000 kpa . ( only 100 kpa difference ) Is this normal on the reverse cycle with an inverter , Scroll compressor and a TXV ? I was lead to believe the TXV isn't used on the RC and I was maybe thinking the compressor was passing .

I checked the 4 way valve to make sure nothing was crossing over and my true suction line back to the compressor was nice and cold and sweating .

I checked the duct outlets and there was a 14 degrees C difference between return air and outlets. The customer never said he had had any issues with regards to lack of heat or cooling in the summer.

With regards to checking the superheat and sub cool to see if it's undergassed do I check the pressure /temp on the gauges , then put my thermometer on the pipe going to the evap & true suction line as it's in heat mode ?

Thanks Gordon

passandscore
22-07-2013, 01:29 PM
If your main suction line is sweating perhaps the internal bi-metal over-temperature protection disk is leaking by internally in the compressor causing the pressures that you are seeing?

http://www.emersonclimate.com/asia/en-AP/Products/Compressors/Scroll_Compressors/Commercial/Documents/astp_overview.pdf

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_D1OlE1yWoY

As for checking the superheat here is some info.

http://www.emersonclimate.com/Documents/FlowControls/PDF%20resources/2006FC-174R1TXVre-article.pdf

The Viking
22-07-2013, 08:48 PM
First thing first...

Where did you attach your gauge lines?

To the two valves on the outside of the outdoor unit? If so you didn't see a discharge pressure...

:cool:

moondawn