PDA

View Full Version : Grasso Compressor Without Oil Pump

MP231
04-07-2013, 01:08 AM
As a PLC programmer I have been asked to write logic for a Grasso Compressor that does not have an oil pump. It does have a Pressure Control solenoid valve.
Can anybody briefly explain how this type of oil system works and how to start the compressor and monitor the pressure ?
I am more used to having an external oil pump which we start before the compressor and allow oil pressure to build up
Thanks

HVACRsaurus
04-07-2013, 02:07 AM
Hi MP,

Screw compressor with out oil pump is referred to as "differential fed" oil pressure.

The compressor discharge pressure (or more correctly oil seperator pressure) pushes the oil from the seperator, through the oil filter, through the header & into the oil galleries.

What needs to be measured (and controlled for safety) is oil manifold pressure (otherwise seperator pressure or discharge pressure, but manifold would be preferable) versus suction pressure. The difference between manifold pressure & suction pressure is referred to as "differential oil pressure".

Obviously warnings, alarms & safeties need to be programmed for low differential pressure, usually with a time delay.

Differential oil feed is usually only an option for single stage or high stage duty - not for booster / low stage duty.

Also, best practice is to have a minimum pressure valve fitted on oil seperator outlet (aka discharge line). Upon start up when seperator pressure is low - the minimum pressure valve remains closed until the oil seperator builds up suitable pressure, then the min press valve opens - allowing passage of discharge gas for normal operation. Sometimes referred to as a cold start valve or various other names.

Basic control sequence would be

a) At rest i.e. zero differential pressure, allow compressor start but activate oil pressure timer

Then