PDA

View Full Version : how to calculate the length of evapurator

heanboon
13-10-2001, 08:05 AM
hi,i am a student.In my final project,i had to design a small system of refrigeration system.Now i have a problem to calculate the length of evapurator.Have anyone can help me this this problem??

I really have no idea to find out how long the evapurator i need.
Or someone who can introduce me the book regarding to my problem.

Abe
14-10-2001, 11:45 PM
hello heanboon,

I have a suggestion. Approach a local refrigeration spares company and ask them to select both a condensing unit and evaporator for you based on the size of the refrigeration space you are using together with the desired temperature.

They will arrive at a duty , either in BTU's or Kwatts, watts, whatever.

The "size" of the evaporator is measured in watts and is matched against the duty of the compressor.

In a nutshell, you achieve a balance of the two. As an aside, you need a lot of experience and brains to work it out scientifically. And you need to embark on a PHd if you want to work it outself. Dont even try.

And if youre designing a system, then you would, or should know all this stuff already!!

Dunno, maybe other members can be more constructive then I have been

Good luck

Derek
17-10-2001, 12:36 PM
Work with us on this one..

Are you looking at air cooling or fluid cooling?

Is this a domestic size application e.g. you don't want a fan to increase the heat transfer rate.

Are you working at high (ambient) temperatures or are you in the frozen zone.

I guess you are looking at a small air cooled unit in which case you have several local suppliers making Searle, Kuba and Friga Bohn copies. For a really small unit you will be looking at a flat plate normally sold as a repair item or in 1000's off.

Evaporator capacity is rated as Q=AxUxTD

Heat transfer in watts = surface area (including fins) x conductance figure x log mean temperature difference external temp to refrigerant temp.