PDA

View Full Version : Please help, fridge cycling

johnno
09-02-2006, 01:13 PM
Hi all,

Please accept my apologies but I am not a refrigeration engineer, I am only “Joe public” but I need your help if at all possible. I have trawled the internet looking for answers and came across your site, you seem to be a community that is willing to help each other,(which is rare) perhaps you could share your knowledge with me.

I have a built-in domestic NEC fridge (type K15R18A E-NR K45130GB/03) that is playing up, it cools OK but does not maintain its temperature. It is cycling between about +10 and -3 degrees over a 4 hour period. Its starts to re-cool automatically again but then shuts down completely only re-cooling once it has warmed back up. Altering the thermostat does not kick the compressor into life, it’s as if it has tripped out.
If it is cooling (hear the compressor running) and I move the thermostat, the compressor immediately shuts down, and will not come back on irrespective of the thermostat setting until it has warmed up!

I have changed the thermostat but the symptoms are the same, it cools down OK, turns off, warms up, cools down and so on, altering the thermostat kills it etc.

Could it be the starter for the compressor or do they just stop working completely?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated; Its in good condition (if it worked properly :) ) and I’m desperately tying to avoid spending £450 on a replacement when it could be mended.

Thank you

davej
09-02-2006, 02:11 PM
hi johnno,

once you terminate the stat it will stay off until the evap reach +3 degrees c in order to complete a defrost,

so its important to confirm when it goes off if it is going off on the stat or an internal compressor overload.