PDA

View Full Version : Discuss to Scroll

Rob S
07-02-2006, 05:41 AM
Does anyone know of a mounting kit to convert a system using Copeland Discuss Compressors to Copeland Scrolls?

guy in blue van
08-02-2006, 01:17 AM
why would you want to do that
your steping down using scrolls

guy in blue van
08-02-2006, 01:20 AM
is this a rack system and if so what make

Rob S
08-02-2006, 03:35 AM
Chambers. Some of the new environmental chambers coming out are using Scrolls. So yes the loss in capacity has got me thinking why? Plus scrolls do not like to run in a vaccum.
These thermoshock chambers will go though compressors.

guy in blue van
10-02-2006, 04:38 AM
just wondering what your trying to achieve by changing over to scrolls.

guy in blue van
10-02-2006, 04:42 AM
whats the make and model of the chamber in question.

Rob S
10-02-2006, 08:23 AM
Espec, Thermotron, etc. Mostly the 48ft^3 and larger. Few Walk-ins too. I'm not good with remembering M#
Most of them run two 7.5hp or 10hp... The larger shocks and walk-ins are 30hp. Like the new one being shipped in is three 30hp cascades for one thermo-shock. Monster.

Scrolls are cheeper and weight is less. (Ah pulled my back again :(

I'd like to get greater capacity control with out Hot Gas bypass. Countless hours of research is a hobby
Been thinking about VFD drives.. But I know copeland won't be any help on that subject. If its not in the data we won't help :) I hear carlyle's have been haveing success with VFDs

Andy
11-02-2006, 08:15 PM
RobS
copeland digital scrolls. The ordinary scroll will not run on VSD the scroll.
A good compressor for your application would be a Bitzer octagon on a VSD, this is a high effeciency compressor with no oil pump that lends it'self to speed control.

http://www.bitzer.de

Kind Regards. Andy:)

Rob S
12-02-2006, 12:33 AM
I have nothing against Blitzer. Think they make great compressors. We buy mostly from the same local supplier to get better rates. Atleast I do.