PDA

View Full Version : EES user

Lc_shi
06-02-2006, 03:42 AM
HI Sir
Who have used EES ?
I've a demo rev and find it's a really good one,but it's not cheap--1000USD. I want to get some advice from who used it and how about the benefit you can get from it? Then I'll make decision-:)

regards
LC

Erik Detroit
06-02-2006, 04:43 AM
I've been using EES since college days in 1994. The thermophysical properties functions enable very quick and easy writing of refrigeration cycle mathematical models. It also has very good iterative solving capabilties and calculations are very fast. I am a big fan of this software.

Lc_shi
06-02-2006, 05:43 AM
Hi Erik
You mean you've been using this software since 1994. You should be very familiar wiht it. Could you tell me some real cases in your work? thx

rgds
LC-:)

US Iceman
06-02-2006, 02:08 PM
Hi LC,

I have been using EES since the early 1990's also. I continue to use it daily in my work. An example of it's capability is to solve the Colebrook equation for friction factors with no problem.

The thermophysical properties are a big reason to use EES. You can simply insert a reference for the specific property you need (specific volume, enthalpy, speed of sound, etc) into your worksheet. The input values can be temperature, pressure, quality, etc.

Very useful to someone who works on refrigeration or air conditioning all of the time. It also has additional capabilities for various glycol properties, air-water functions, steam, etc.

You can create parametric tables and solve for various values to see the relationships of the equations also.

The program also allows you to write software functions such as loops, functions, IF-Then-Else statements. Just about anything you can do in C or Visual Basic you can do in EES.

You can also link other programs such as Excel to EES.

One of the professors who developed this program also worked on the NIST RefProp program for high accuracy refrigerant properties.