PDA

View Full Version : Internal Fuse Blowing on Budget unit

rubybree
16-05-2013, 05:48 PM
I'm based in Spain and had been asked by a customer to Vac out their newly (self installed) system. Its a budget make and he is a plumber by trade.

All pipework seemed ok, released the gas. switched on unit which ran for mins, by the time I got out to listen to the compressor, the power had shut down on the indoor unit.

The company that supplied it do not want to know. I looked at the internal circuit board and noticed that the internal fuse had blown (3.15Amp), replaced that with similar rating, ran it for 30 mins, all seemed ok.

Refitted indoor casing, tried again and fuse blew again. My question is, can I up the amp rating without causing much damage, bearing in mind my customer has already accepted he may need to scrap the unit.

What could be causing the problem? All wiring connections seem ok with no shorting marks. There is a earth protector on the main house circuit board

I've replaced the fuse again, twiddled the wiring and ran it for about an hour without any problems but just have a feeling that I'll be back.

Any thoughts would be appreciated..

Brian_UK
16-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Sadly, if you buy cheap then you get cheap.

Could be a faulty fan motor or dodgy internal electronics.

monkey spanners
16-05-2013, 07:47 PM
What does the fuse protect?

How much current is the unit pulling?

rubybree
16-05-2013, 07:50 PM