PDA

View Full Version : Engineers with little training

todd86
10-05-2013, 03:01 AM
Hi i wanted to start a discussion on the subject of engineers who have little training i find the subject very interesting i would like to hear from engineers.

I would like to know how you became knowledgeable, do you hold any qauls e.g F-GAS, type of works you undertake, are self employed, employed, how long you have been in the field.

Thanks guys

:)

frank
10-05-2013, 01:07 PM
With little training I hardly think that you could call them 'Engineers'

Perhaps it would be better to call them 'Trainees'

djbe
10-05-2013, 11:34 PM

Careful Frank. Some of us have little training just a lot experience.

e.g I only have 2078 latterly 2079 everything else has been learnt on the job and self taught by studying.

I consider that I have little training, but I also consider myself to be a refrigeration engineer. Just because someone else hasn't shown me how a job should be done doesn't mean I don't understand how it should (or can) be done. Believe me I have seen and rectified plenty of jobs by "trained" people that are not worthy.

20 yrs plus in the business by someone who is interested must count for something?

frank
11-05-2013, 05:58 PM
Trainee, Technician, Engineer. I'm sure that we all fit into 1of these descriptions.

The original OP's question just struck me as a bit of an oxymoron. How can you be an 'engineer' without formal technical training?
Not taking anyone's thunder as I'm sure there are many amongst us that are quite competent working on fridge systems without formal training, but does the title 'engineer' really apply if you don't hold a recognised qualification?

If I'm not mistaken, I think that this subject has been discussed at great length before on here and different countries around the world use the title of engineer and technician in different ways.

Please don't take my comments in the wrong context, I'm not belittling anyone's skill level.

monkey spanners