PDA

View Full Version : Drier

Vincent Yu
31-01-2006, 12:01 AM
Hello All,

I have a stupid question. I am working on a small dehumidifier. It is a flooded system. A 7000 BTU/hr Rotary Compressor is used. R22 is the refrigerant and cap tube is used as the metering device. In order to cut the price, some people suggest eliminating the drier from the system. As a refrigeration engineer, I have never designed any systems without driers. So I really do not have any ideas about this issue.

Is it possible that a system works properly for a long time without the drier? If it is possible, what vacuum level should be reached before charging?

Any inputs are welcome.

Thanks
Vincent

wambat
31-01-2006, 12:59 AM
Vincent, If you have a cap tube system you might want to consider this comment from "The News"
Early in the introduction of small, self-contained units using R-22, our company’s techs noticed an increase in the number of units with restricted cap tubes to the point we would not replace a compressor without replacing the cap tube also. When units with R-134a were introduced and the problem of restricted capillaries hit epidemic proportions, we began using Sporlan C-052S driers. This almost eliminated the problem. Sporlan now offers a solid-core drier with an access fitting made specifically for capillary tube applications. We have used those with excellent results. :)
PS: Mark does this meet with your approval :D

Johnny Rod
31-01-2006, 01:57 PM
Moisture content of new refrigerant should be below 10ppm; problems with moisture usually start around 50ppm upwards depending on temperatures. Moisture is saturated in R22 at 615ppm at 0C, so it's (almost) always in solution, but it still causes problems.