PDA

View Full Version : Ammonia Refrigeration Knock Out Vessel Design

Pdag
10-04-2013, 02:03 AM
Hi all I am a student doing chemical engineering and I am in the process of completing my final year design project. I am currently stuck on my detailed design and any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Overview of unit:
The unit that I am designing is an existing refrigeration tower used in industry to flash liquid ammonia from inlet feed conditions of 8.3kPa, 19C to AtmP, -33.3C over 5 stages. This allows the ammonia to be cooled to it's bubble point without adding any energy to the system other than into the compressor which is used to re-compress and recycle vapour flash streams to inlet. For the purpose of the design I have treated each stage as an individual flash or knock out vessel for simplicity.

These 5 stages are each incrementally lower in pressure than the previous until atmospheric pressure is reached which provides the flow driving force between stages. I have also done calculations for 1,3,and 7 stage system to compare my design with.

The main reason for the stages is to reduce the duty on the compressor(s), which re-compress the flashed ammonia vapour back to inlet conditions so they can then be recycled.

As a result the compressor is compressing smaller vapour streams which are already at higher pressures and temperatures as opposed compressing the whole vapour stream from atmP back to 8.3kPa which is what would be required if a single knock out vessel where used.

Where I am now stuck:
I have performed an energy balance and calculated the Liquid and vapour flow-rates through the system using thermodynamic data on ammonia that I got from NIST database. I am now trying to size the vessel(s).