PDA

View Full Version : Lost!

tman39
29-03-2013, 02:48 PM
Hello All,
My name is Tim I'm new here. I am currently a bit baffled. I was asked to build a small blast freezer with some old stuff from the bone yard. Maybe my calcs are a bit off or I was just hoping for more.
what I have is a stainless steel box 18"wx110"lx44"h.. have a Copeland discuss 3083-0750-tfct.

I have 2 evap coils, with 8x1/4 dist on both. coils sizes are 28"x25"x 10"thick.

sporlan valves sse 4-zp

refrigerant 404a

I am running a 170-175 head 25- 15psi suction with an 8 degree super heat.

I played with the superheat a degree or two up and down.--suction line sweating nicely

I was hoping to achieve -25 to -20.. i can run -12 to -15 all day...no issues. but i would like to get into the neg 25 degree range.

Im not sure if trying to push this 7.5hp cond. too far or i sized my valves wrong. this is my first build.. i don't want to call it a fail yet.

Royal241
05-04-2013, 01:27 AM
I was looking up the model number on compressor, can't find. can you repost the model number? I'm willing to spend a few minutes...

Gary
05-04-2013, 03:52 PM
What are the entering and leaving air temperatures for both coils?

Done it all
04-05-2013, 09:08 AM
To get the temp lower you need to get the evaporating temp lower, if its all cobbled together maybe your evaps are oversized for the comp. A quick fix could be to lower the suction pressure, by adjusting the valve or going for a smaller orifice, (this will increase the superheat lots) but may have the desired effect. Plan B: remove one of the evap coils, although then your problem may go the other way, too low evaporating.

Gary
05-05-2013, 12:03 AM
The best way to reduce the evap temp is to reduce the evap airflow.

monkey spanners
05-05-2013, 12:16 AM