PDA

View Full Version : Absorbtion chiller Question

balerjoe
27-01-2006, 03:54 PM
I'm a newbie to the refrigeration world. I know there are lithium bromide absorbtion chillers. Some told me today there are Ammonia & water instead of the lithium bromide. Is this true? If so how do they work?

rbartlett
27-01-2006, 04:07 PM
google is your fiend

cheers

richard

Argus
27-01-2006, 07:02 PM
google is your fiend

cheers

richard

Google really can be a fiend, sometimes, Richard!

Let?s put some facts to the question.

There are two type of cooling systems that use the absorption principle. The common denominator to both is that they contain two working fluids in mixture. One is always the absorbent, the other the refrigerant.

When using Lithium Bromide, the LiBro is the absorbent and the refrigerant is (distilled) water. The whole system utilises the low boiling point of water at vacuum pressures. Generally they are very large machines, usually in the megawatt range. I commissioned a Carrier 16JB some years ago that weighed in at about 100 tons R (about 350kW) and it was considered a tidler. They are usually around 500 - 1000 Ton R.

The other form uses ammonia and water. Ammonia is the refrigerant and water is the absorbent. Electrolux patented the idea a few decades ago and you can see their descendants in all the small mini-bar coolers in hotels etc that work on this principle.

An Italian company called Robur marketed a water chiller that used the same principle as the Electrolux units and they are around 20 ? 30 kW in capacity and gas fired.

Web site here.

http://www.robur.com/pag_tecnologia.jsp?idl=2&id_sez=48

There may be others that I don't know of.

________
Cooking Forum (http://www.cooking-chef.com/)

Brian_UK
27-01-2006, 07:28 PM
Robur, Electrolux, Arkler all started in the States; good machines and finally caught up with the 21st century.

ansellmayor
28-04-2006, 01:20 AM