PDA

View Full Version : Toshiba estia air source heat pump

Aircon467
11-03-2013, 10:47 PM
Wowzers!!

Ive installed this estia system.

Totally amazed / concerned its costing around £7.50 per day to run

Wtf .... This is just for the central heating.

Anyone else with experience on this... Just glad i have fitted in my house and not a customers.... How can this be justified when my gas boiler cost £2 per day to use.

Brian_UK
11-03-2013, 11:20 PM
One has to ask.... is it sized correctly?

Aircon467
12-03-2013, 12:12 AM
Im presuming the rads need upgrading... Which is gunna get done as they are old rads.

House is very well insulated. 1950's 3 bed semi, max total floor space 100sq m.

Its a 14kw system only running the rads @ the minute.

It just amazes me how a gas boiler with same rads etc can heat the house for £2 p/d

Just in process of buying new rads.., not very optimistic tho. But will see.

Im new to ashp so will be a learning curve for me, with any sound advice welcome.

Trying to size new rads is a grey area for me... As i dont know how poorly the current ones are.

Going to replace 2 at a time with some trial & more than likely error.

yinmorrison
14-03-2013, 08:34 PM
Air and Ground source heat pumps are much better suited to underfloor systems which only require 35C flow temp due to larger heat dissipation area. The maximum flow you will be getting is around 50-55C to radiators that were probably designed for 82/71C flow/return. You will only be getting about 50% of the original radiator capacity so the system is either not even bringing house up to temp or taking twice as long to do so and hence higher running cost.Attached wee chart from Stelrad details percent falls on a radiator considering average return water and room temp difference.10126
Hope this helps.However me thinks you will still be more expensive than gas even when you do upgrade rads.

Aircon467
14-03-2013, 09:01 PM