PDA

View Full Version : Charging a system

shark26
24-01-2006, 03:52 PM
Hello everyone. Need a little help with this one as i am not very good at putting practice into words and dont want to get it wrong and confuse people.

I need to provide a simple step by step chart on how to charge our equipment when out on site without scales. (for our junior/apprentice staff)

The equipment is Koxka M-19 Multidecks.
Capilary tubed and running on 134a and some on 404a.

Many thanks.:)

slingblade
24-01-2006, 06:30 PM
The difficulty in this case is the fact that many different things can affect the way a system is percieved to contain a full charge by an individual. some may look at a set of gauge readings and see undercharge or overcharge where there is none. fans held off for instance , a blocked condensor or low or high ambient temp., amongst many others are possible reasons. the only true way of assesing a system charge is ultimately by experience and knowledge of all the factors involved. this will prove difficult for the junior engineer as his/her experience is limited. i cant really think of a chart that would have helped me as i was starting out or one that would help me in any way these days where charging a multideck is the job at hand. good luck in your search anyway.:)

chillin out
24-01-2006, 07:03 PM
I need to provide a simple step by step chart on how to charge our equipment when out on site without scales.
Do you not have portable scales?

Only other way is to stop the evap fans and charge untill the whole coil is frosted but no more.

Why teach this method if you do have scales?

Surely if it is SOG, then find leak - reclaim rest of gas -repair - Vac and recharge to weight. This way you get it right every time.

Chillin:) :)

shark26
24-01-2006, 07:38 PM
Thanks Marc. Will give that link a look.:)

Chillin. Thanks. We have a few systems that have some very useless line taps fitted. Some leak and some are ok.