PDA

View Full Version : NH3 -Autocascade System need to determine refrigeration thermal load

tonikh
17-02-2013, 01:39 AM
Hi all,

I would really appreciate your help with the following matter:

I have an ammonia refrigeration system made up of three circuits with evaporation temperatures of -10oC, -35oC and -45oC

Now what I really want to do is find out the refrigeration thermal load for the system, all I have is the compressors electrical consumptions meter readings in kWh measured on a weekly basis and a drawing showing for each of the 16 compressors in the system the Capacity (kW) and P. Inst. (kW). That is literally all that I have.

A bit as to what I am trying to achieve, I am not a refrigeration engineer and I don't need to be spot on all I want is an approximation of the amount of waste heat going through the cooling towers for the exercise that I am doing.

is there anything that you can recommend ? such as an overall COP I can assume ?
and is dividing the Capacity (kW) for each compressor by the P.Inst. (kW) would give me the COP for each of the 16 compressors ?

As I was thinking if I can manage to assume a COP supported by some argument or refenrece then I can multiply it by the electricity consumption of the ammonia compressors meter readings that I have in order to obtain my thermal load, am I right to think that ?

Thanks in advance !

The Viking
17-02-2013, 02:07 AM
So you want to see how much heat is rejected by your cooling towers?

So why start at the other end???

The easier, and more accurate, way would be to look at the water flow and temperature differential at your cooling towers.

:cool:

tonikh
17-02-2013, 03:11 PM
So you want to see how much heat is rejected by your cooling towers?

So why start at the other end???

The easier, and more accurate, way would be to look at the water flow and temperature differential at your cooling towers.

:cool:

Hey Viking,