PDA

View Full Version : Panasonic compressor tripping rcd.

Duncanbru
09-02-2013, 11:11 PM
I was looking at a Panasonic cu-80c52hp air con unit, it was reported that it has recently started to trip the rcd shortly after switching on. I disconnected the compressor and the fan runs and rest of circuitry seems ok but when compressor is re-connected it trips rcd. Is this a common fault? Any solution?
I am a gas safe engineer with electrical experience but not to familiar with air con units.
Any help greatly appreciated.

Brian_UK
09-02-2013, 11:14 PM
Unit probably shouldn't be connected through an RCD, any slight motor leakage will drop oout the breaker.

install monkey
09-02-2013, 11:17 PM
did u disconnect the compressor at the outgoing side of the contactor or at the compressor- inspect the comp termonals to prove a crimp terminal hasnt blown off,also check the overheat klixon if its external- to prove comp is goosed u need a megger- to test insulation, chances are its faulty as rcd's detect earth leakage only

Duncanbru
09-02-2013, 11:43 PM
As far as I'm aware it was originally installed on the rcd. My wife recently took over the lease on the shop unit where it is installed. I originally disconnected the capacitor from the relay to try and prove where the fault was, the unit ran without tripping. I reconnected the relay terminal and disconnected the compressor terminals, all crimps looked in tact.

install monkey
09-02-2013, 11:52 PM
you mean you disconnected the compressor-not the capacitor- can only find a spec sheet for this unit- some site wanted 15dollars for a service manual, if its inverter driven then as brian states it shouldnt be on a rcd as when the compressor stops it discharges down the neutral line, the manual stated this unit is from 1999, so could be either.
dont go ripping the rcd out , test the insulation and maybe then an rcd tester to prove the rcd isnt neusance tripping