PDA

View Full Version : documentation of M-Net electrical signaling and higher-level protocol?

robthedude
25-01-2013, 04:27 AM
documentation of M-Net electrical signaling and higher-level protocol?

I've got a Mitsubishi electric system in my house -- it's a single system, with one PEFY-P36NMHU-E and one PUMY-P36NHMU-E outside, controlled by a PAR-30MAAU.

I'm not happy with the PAR-30MAAU. (For one thing, the temperature is off from the actual room temperature -- it says it's 63F when it's really about 69F. And it won't let me set it any lower than 63F. But since I would like the heat to go down to about 62F at night, I need to set it to about 56F, and as I said, it won't let me go down below 63F. I'm going to get this looked at, but in the meantime…)

I'm a bit of a tinkerer -- I'm an experienced low-level software engineer, and a friend of mine is a good electrical engineer, so we were wanting to see if we could create an M-Net control device to let us talk to the unit. But we can't find any substantial documentation on it at all.

I've found the CoolMaster product, which actually does what I want, but it's a bit expensive for me (though I may still get one). And I'm really interested in the challenge of engineering something.

Is it possible to get documentation on the M-Net protocol? Or perhaps get one of the CMS-MNG devices? Neither of us are HVAC technicians -- indeed, we're not really in the HVAC industry at all. But if we DID want to do that, is there any kind of Mitsubishi developer program where specs of this sort are documented? I looked all over the mylinkdrive site, and I found some high-level documents, but I didn't see anything low-level. Maybe I missed it though.

Any information would be very much appreciated.

Brian_UK
25-01-2013, 08:32 PM
I would be careful about trying to run your unit at a lower than designed temperature.

The frost protection of the indoor unit might come into play as your try and turn an air cooler into an air freezer.