PDA

View Full Version : Re-use of cold in refrigeration system

bart43
14-01-2013, 11:02 AM
Hello,

I am a process engineer currently working on a project concerning a low temperature operation. I try to make a proces scheme for an energy efficient cooling system in which part of the refrigrant-condensation is accomplished by using 'waste-cold' from a cold product stream. However not enough cold is available for the complete condensation and so additional cooling is required (preferrably) with an air condensor. This means two compressors and a 'high' and 'low' temperature condensation steps.

Is there someone who can tell me something about commercially available systems for the above described situation?

Thank you in advance,

Bart

bart43
14-01-2013, 02:17 PM
I am afraid that my above written post is not very clear. In fact I am also curious to hear about any kind of options that are available to have a refrigeration cycle with two different condensing temperatures.

Thank you,
Bart

Rob White
14-01-2013, 04:57 PM

You don't need two compressors you need two condensers.

The first condenser will remove the superheat and then the second
could do the actual condensing, maybe using a water cooled condenser
as a de-superheater and then you get the added bonus of heat recovery.

Then once you have de-superheated the discharge vapour you can then
use your waste cold process to condense the refrigerant.

Regards

Rob

Segei
15-01-2013, 12:06 AM
Hello,

I am a process engineer currently working on a project concerning a low temperature operation. I try to make a proces scheme for an energy efficient cooling system in which part of the refrigrant-condensation is accomplished by using 'waste-cold' from a cold product stream. However not enough cold is available for the complete condensation and so additional cooling is required (preferrably) with an air condensor. This means two compressors and a 'high' and 'low' temperature condensation steps.