PDA

View Full Version : Air Flow Rate and Static Pressure

Farid Kamal
20-12-2012, 03:57 PM
Good Day everyone,

I am very new into air conditioning and would like to improve myself in it.

I have read a few threads about condensation happening at supply air diffusers and got a few confusions.

How does "air flow rate" and "static pressure" of a system contributes to condensation at the supply diffusers (water dripping)?

Would be glad if someone can clear up my confusions as I am a newbie in this field.

Thank You ^_^

frank
20-12-2012, 07:25 PM
The short answer is...it doesn't.
Condensation from the air occurs when the temperature of the air cools to a point where the moisture entrained within the air becomes saturated (100%RH) and water droplets form.

While the air is moving, the water droplets are carried along with it for the most part but can accumulate on the grille or diffuser, leading to drips of water.

When warm air passes over a cooling coil and it drops in temperature, the same thing happens and condensate is formed. This is called de-humidification.

Static pressure is the term used for a surface acting against the flow a
of air in a duct. Coupled with Velocity pressure, these add up to the Total pressure. Velocity Pressure (VP) + Static Pressure (SP) = Total Pressure (TP)

Air Flow Rate is the amount of air flowing in a system measured in M3/s or CFM

Farid Kamal
23-12-2012, 12:31 PM
Thank You Frank..

I can seem to understand a bit now.
Seems like I have to master the Psychrometric Chart to fully understand this.

=)

The Viking
23-12-2012, 04:07 PM
Sorry Frank,
We have to agree to disagree on this one as I actually seen it happened, sorry.

First, we need to understand that condensation occurs whenever air meets a temperature below the air's dew point. The dewpoint varies depending on humidity levels (and to a lesser degree also with air pressure), I won't go in to the details about it here but Google "psychrometric chart" to get an idea.