PDA

View Full Version : C and G 7189 or 6087

will89
06-11-2012, 11:34 PM
Hi, i am currently working for a A/C firm while going to college. I am in my 2nd year at college, and my college has chosen the route of the new city and guilds 7189 qualification. For an additional £400 they will also register me on the 6087 NVQ aswell. I just wanted some opions wheather it is worth doing the 6087 aswell, or is this new 7189, going to be the new industry standard recongnised qualification.

Cheers

Rob White
08-11-2012, 12:05 AM

The 7189 is a Heating and Ventilation qualification.

You will be learning about water heating systems and water chillers.
It is not a refrigeration or AC qualification but a heating and Ventilation
qualification which may be argued as being different to pure refrigeration,
which the 6087 is. But to do the 6087 you must do the 6127 technical cert
first and that combined with the 6087 is a 2 to 3 year course as well.

I think they will combine the two, teach the two as one big course and then
let you sit all the exams and achieve both the qualifications.

Be aware that the 6087 has been superceded by the 6187 so it is now an
out of date qual.

Regards

Rob

will89
09-11-2012, 04:19 PM
Well I don't think that the 7189 is a heating and ventilation qual, on the city and guilds website the 7189 description is level 2 diploma in refrigeration, air con and heat pump systems, this what I am already signed on to, as for the NVQ the last registration for the 6087 is the end of the year. I know the 6087 is going to be an old qual, but I know it is an industry recognised qual. Whereas the 7189 is new this year and not a lot is known about it in the industry at the mo. This is why I am not sure whether to pay the extra for the NVQ.

Cheers
will

Rob White
10-11-2012, 02:18 AM