PDA

View Full Version : New person says hi and looks for p/h chart for R-12

frankiee
07-01-2006, 03:32 PM
Hi
I am new here
I am not use to the site yet and I was searching for a "pressure/ enthalpy chart for refrigerant 12
I found the heading in the site which I have listed below, but I was unable to open it.

Links and Downloads Database
Pressure-Enthalpy Chart

My request is if any body can lead me to a P/h chart for refrigerant 12
My instructor gave us one which is barely readable so I got one from the net BUT, the
KJ/Kg is way off base.
I do not understand and my instructor can not say why.

I am in 3rd year marine engineering and doing air conditioning in my 3rd thermodynamics.
The chart which is barely legible, that our instructor handed out, works with our calculations from the text book (Basic Engineering Thermodynamics by Rayner Joel) so we will be using it to prepare for our 1st class Marine Engineering test after graduation.

I would like to find a chart that I can see clearly and that has the proper enthalpy scale.
Thank you in advance

I hope to add to the forum on a regular basis.:)

US Iceman
07-01-2006, 03:44 PM
Welcome to the forum,

You said the enthalpies were not correct on one of the charts. My question is, how are they not correct? Do they not compare favorably to another chart?

One thing you should be aware of on these charts is that they can be different. Sometimes the charts (and tables for that matter) can be based on different reference temperatures.

In some charts, the zero enthalpy is based on Zero, in others the reference temperature is -40. If you compare one enthalpy from one chart to another chart, it is possible that the enthalpies for the same point will be different. Same for some refrigerant tables.

Whenever you are doing mass flow calculations or other procedures using the refrigerant PH chart or tables, you need to make sure that the Zero enthalpy reference is the same.