PDA

View Full Version : Leaks in Multiple Daikin Units

Wellen Const
26-09-2012, 03:20 AM
I am a builder and I have a home with multiple Daikin units in it. After several years of operation they have all in a relativly short period of time developed leaks in the cooling coils and the outdoor units. My HVAC guy is saying that they appear to be rotting from the inside out. Speaking with Daikin they think that moisture was present inside the system and this over time has caused acid build up that has caused the leaks. This seems odd to me - my HVAC guys says no way no way no way moisture got inside. If this happend to one unit I could see but all (5) seems like something is up. Note that they are not connected in any way they are all seperate. Does anyone have any idea what my issue is? Has anyone heard of this anyplace else? Any help would be greatly appricaited.

stufus
26-09-2012, 09:38 AM
Are you near the coast or an industrial.area? if so the air quality could be the cause.
Get your tech to perform acid tests on each system this will determine the presence of moisture or not as the case may be.However if the systems areleaking there will most likely be moisture in there now.
Cheers
Stu

The Viking
26-09-2012, 06:16 PM
It depends on where on the systems the leaks are and what refrigerants the units operate on.

In the good old days we used R12-R22-R502 and these operated with mineral oil but due to environmental concerns we had to start using R407c-R410a and the likes. These new refrigerants needs synthetic oil for the lubrication to work and this is where the problems starts.
The synthetic oil will become acidic as soon as any moisture is present.
In the old days when moisture in the system only would cause temporary blockages by forming ice inside the system we could get away with a lot of sins but nowadays almost clinical working practices are required.