PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding oils and gauges

hawkeye
18-09-2012, 11:39 AM
I am looking for some advice here. I came off the road when the new breed of gasses came out; I have mainly worked on R22 systems.
I remember back in those days they said you needed a different set of gauges for each of the systems, mineral and synthetic.
I am now a static engineer with 11 months to go to retirement so all my training has lapsed.
What I want to know is can you use the same set of gauges on R22, 407C & 410. I am thinking of cross contamination of oils here.

Our AC contractor only uses one set of gauges full stop, no matter what the system is. They tell me this acceptable now, is this so

r.bartlett
18-09-2012, 01:53 PM
I carry two sets but use both for both...

stufus
18-09-2012, 03:47 PM
I'm like RB have a couple of sets but chop and change.
Not an issue unless working on very small systems where the amount of oil in a line could potentiall cross the much fabled 5& line.
Manufacturers of digital gauges dont seem fussed as all the gasses are preloaded int the software.
If its good enough for them that will do me.
Cheers
Stu

Rob White
18-09-2012, 04:47 PM
I am looking for some advice here. I came off the road when the new breed of gasses came out; I have mainly worked on R22 systems.
I remember back in those days they said you needed a different set of gauges for each of the systems, mineral and synthetic.
I am now a static engineer with 11 months to go to retirement so all my training has lapsed.
What I want to know is can you use the same set of gauges on R22, 407C & 410. I am thinking of cross contamination of oils here.

Our AC contractor only uses one set of gauges full stop, no matter what the system is. They tell me this acceptable now, is this so

Use the same gauges if you want but just
be aware that R410 do use different gauges
rated at the slightly higher pressures.

So use one set of gauges for 410 and one set