PDA

View Full Version : Car Air Conditioning Problem

Click4
31-08-2012, 06:06 PM
Hi, im quite new to the air conditioning world, and today I came accross a car which would not accept a full liquid charge on the high pressure port.

It is supposed to take 810grams of refrigerant, but it hit 470grams and just stopped charging.

Any ideas?

I have a feeling there is an obstruction of some kind, when I start the car up and switch on the air conditioning it does work, but when i try to add the correct charge it hits a wall.

Would I be correct in the likely suspects being the reciever dryer and / or orifice tube causing some kind of obstruction?

Pressure tested it with nitrogen to 150psi, and it holds its pressure fine, also sprayed the joints where visible and couldnt find any leaks.

Pulled a vacuum, vacuum also held fine for over an hour, but I was struggling to hit anything more than 25 hg-in and get below 2000 microns on my digital guages.

Luke.G
31-08-2012, 06:14 PM
Hi,
This is probably because your high side gauge point is the same or if not higher than the bottle pressure......
Flash liquid through the suction to get the correct charge

you can only put so much refrigerant in with just a vacuum.
As you said it works so i highly doubt there's a restriction but it will work better with a full charge.

Thanks,
Luke

Click4
31-08-2012, 08:32 PM
Hi, Thanks for the reply

Just a thought, but if I got a heater on the tank.. that would increase the tank pressure and force it through?

I have a tank heater, but yet to use it lol

install monkey
31-08-2012, 10:34 PM
run the system and charge from the low side of the system

Click4
31-08-2012, 11:06 PM
Hi, Thanks for the reply, ok will try to add the remaining refrigerant through the low side as vapour gas.

I know it has 470grams in it at the moment, so just need to add another 340grams through the low side.

Next question is, is it normal for it to be hard to pull down less than 2000 microns on a car?