PDA

View Full Version : Low Low pressure

JMT
14-08-2012, 10:35 AM
I am having a nightmare of a problem with a 10 ton R22 A/C charged it with the correct weight of gas, but the low pressure side is only reaching 30psi at idle on run its about 15psi (low pressure switch does not make until 35psi) I have checked the TEV and the filter drier as I presumed one would be blocked or faulty but both are ok. I am new to this so please be gentle any help would be great.

Yuri B.
14-08-2012, 04:09 PM
30 psi for R22 at adle corresponds to - 12 C ambient, what is not probably the case.

Brian_UK
14-08-2012, 06:18 PM
Silly questions perhaps but... all valves and other dev ices open?

With the unit running try taking pipe temperatures along the system to see if there is a temperature drop somewhere caused by a restriction or blockage.

Also, welcome to the forum.

frank
14-08-2012, 07:43 PM
First thing to check with low suction pressures is the airflow over the evaporator. If the indoor unit is not absorbing sufficient heat to evaporate and expand the refrigerant, you will get low suction pressures.
Could be dirty filters or dirty/blocked coil, assuming that the gas charge is correct.

martinw58
14-08-2012, 07:46 PM
has the unit got head pressure control on the condenser fans and have checked super heat

JMT
26-08-2012, 03:02 PM
Going back to this in a couple of days will check superheat. But what is head pressure?

martinw58
26-08-2012, 03:42 PM
the high pressure side of the system the condenser fans are controld by a pressure switch or a fan speed controler

stufus
26-08-2012, 06:45 PM
If not a packaged unit and a split system the plate charge may not be sufficient.
Cheers
Stu

WeNeedUnions
24-10-2012, 01:47 PM