PDA

View Full Version : Student Project - Organic Rankine Cycle

uc-orc
13-08-2012, 12:10 AM
Hi All.
I am a mechanical engineering Student from Christchurch, New Zealand.
My team of four has been given the project of designing and building a small scale organic rankine cycle converter - a project we have been finding difficult as inexperienced students.
This requires using a heat source to evaporate a refrigerant (r134a), which spins an expander producing electricity. The refrigerant is then condensed, pumped up to pressure, and the cycle begins.

The refrigeration engineers we have spoken to so far have been incredibly helpful, so I am hoping that I can tap into an even larger source of knowledge here :)

Technical Summary:
Refrigerant – r134a. This will be reaching a temperature of approximately 80° C at a pressure of 21 bar. The flow rate is 0.13 kg/s (around 0.1 L/s)

Heat Source - We are using 250+°C exhaust gases. We have had a fin and tube heat evaporator built for this capable of extracting 25 kW.

Turbine - This extracts the work from the expanded refrigerant. We are using a reversed scroll compressor (from the AC of a car).

Condenser – Basic coil and drum with water cooling. This will condense the liquid at a pressure of 7 bar and temperature of 30° C (5° subcooled). The condensate drips into a receiver.

Pump – Hydraulic pump with electric motor. (A compressor is not involved at this system). It was difficult finding a pump that can produce a pressure of 21 bar with such a low flow rate. Any other suggestions for pump types would be very much appreciated 

We will also have a variety of pressure and temperature gauges as we need to get some idea of whats happening within the system. There will also be a suction accumulator and pressure relief valve after the evaporator, a check valve before the pump and sight glasses placed around the system to check the state of the refrigerant.