PDA

View Full Version : Hi and Lo Side pressure much too high on newly built R134a system..(95 Chevy Truck)

b9box
12-07-2012, 08:40 PM
I've been rebuilding/servicing my automotive AC systems for 30 years, up to this point only R-12 on many different Chevy trucks. My background is electronics engineer, but I have a reasonable understanding of refrigeration, lost count how many I've built/recharged over the years. Perhaps just short on some of the little details (which is everything as we all know.) This is first R134a though.

I completely rebuilt the AC system on this 1995 Chevy truck. The only original parts are the evaporator and the bottom line going from it to the condenser. I flushed these both with a full can of flush, blew out with dry air for :mad:at least an hour. It's all new, Condenser, even main hose, Delphi R4 style compressor, of course new accumulator and orifice tube. I don't monkey around with questionable parts!

Before bolting hose onto compressor, I added 2.5 oz PAG-150 (per manufacturer and dealer) to compressor input port, and 5.5oz balance of 8oz bottle PAG to receiver/dryer. I connected everything, drew a vacuum to about 29.5 inches (or better. it's a very serious 1hp vacuum pump..) It held for an hour, so I ran vacuum pump again to evacuate for 45 minutes.

As I added the first can of R134a, I started engine, AC on high/fan hi, and got about 80% of "first can" into system when low pressure side began climbing fairly quickly (1 to 2 minutes.. 30psi, 40, then 50, then 75.. Compressor was cycling off and on and was loud, then began to strain the engine.. the hi side went to about 400 psi!! ..so I shut it down out of fear of the can exploding in my hand! With everything turned off, pressure equalized (both sides) to about 80 psi! I disconnected the can for fear of it exploding!