PDA

View Full Version : DIY 'Air Force' Split System Wiring.

Biggav
11-07-2012, 10:33 PM
I got a cheap split system off of ebay from a bloke who couldnt get planning permission for the outside unit. I am a plumber by trade but am building a recording studio as im sick of the trade now. I have fitted the units in place and connected the pipework but the electrical connections are a little confusing. (there are no instructions with it)

I would have loved to have bought a better system but the Divorce left me with very little so im doing it the budget way until i can afford to improve it.

From the indoor unit, I have a large multi plug with large blue, small blue, large brown, small brown and earth, and a small plug with red & Black cables. The outdoor unit has screw terminals for Live, Neutral and earth and a small plug with yellow and brown wires but this does not fit the small connector from the indoor unit.

Im assuming that the smaller wires are control wires and the blues and browns in the big plug can just be wired into the terminals but i just though id ask the question here to see if anyone has a definitive answer on this before I weld myself to the ladder.

Andy AC
11-07-2012, 10:45 PM
Looks like you have been sold a mismatched indoor aand outdoor unit. If they were right, the plugs would match.

Biggav
11-07-2012, 11:00 PM
Yes, I already figured then when i googled the part numbers,
Indoor unit- MUB12HRN1-QC Outdoor KFR-35w/NaB20-J I think i have been had by the seller on ebay. The pipework connected no problem so im just hoping that its simply a case of cutting off the connectors and connecting the wires on the correct terminals :/

install monkey
11-07-2012, 11:27 PM
if u ring b&q technical then youll get no joy- best thing to do is try it-as the indoor pcb should be fused- was gonna say get the mrs to switch it on- but plan b- switch it on with a stick

Biggav
12-07-2012, 08:23 AM