PDA

View Full Version : Drip noise / vinegary smell from Daikin ducted split

bogof
27-06-2012, 11:11 PM
(I am not a refrigeration engineer, but am in electronic engineering)

Had a Daikin ducted (FDXS-C) split fitted last year (residential install). Used over summer then not again til a few weeks ago. Noticed that usually on startup has a faint vinegar smell at supply grilles for a while, subsiding to musty. Also if fan is running fast I will often hear a drip... drip... noise transmitted through the grilles. Manipulating the drain line slightly changes this noise (speeds up / slows down), and low-and-behold looking around the attic I can see that the drain line drops 10cm, and then spends around a metre going up-hill, so I guess the drip noise is air bubble moving along the drain line as the standing water in the pipe is displaced?

I've cleaned the unit with RTU evaporator cleaner, and added a stay-clean treatment to the drain pan, which has sorted the smell for now, but I realise I need to sort out the drain really, otherwise I guess it will recur.

So at the moment the drain is made up of the flexible Daikin hose with a 21.5mm coupler inserted, and then 21.5mm pipe going down (and up!) then down again and out into the side of the gutter downpipe outside the house.

From what I read there should really be a trap on the drain, close to the unit, and the pipework should all go downhill. Looking at (mostly US-based?) installations it seems like there should really be a secondary drain pan under the unit too, draining out somewhere visible?

I've bought a 3/4" EZT-150 waterless trap, but I'm stuck at the most basic part really - how is it best to make up the drain pipe sections into the trap and then out of the trap? A quick shufty round B&Q would say that I can't easily find pipe / fittings which are snug into this trap, and then what is best to do at the Daikin unit - modify the flexible hose, or couple something directly to the drain pan outlet?