PDA

View Full Version : Commisioning

Leon_dawson2008
22-06-2012, 08:55 PM
Hi guys,

I am a level 3 qualified engineer on the isle of man that has only been in the trade for 5 years. My problem is that since I started I have been in a two man team me being the second man, and after I finished college I naively overruled a lot of what was taught to coincide with the advice of my supervisor.

He was what you would call an old school engineer, he has now retired and I am finding it extremely difficult as I now am on my own and look after anything from a supermarket pack to a VRF system or even bottle coolers and small ice machines, I have been on my own for two years and still do not get a lot of call backs although I know I am doing some aspects wrong

I am very happy with the electrical side of my work but am finding commissioning extremely difficult. I was taught by my boss at the time that to charge a system you use the evaporating temp that you require ie for a deck it would be 6 degrees c, then subtract ten and this will give you your evap temp and that is what to charge to on the gauge so about -4 which is about 3.2 bar off the top of my head.

Now I know people will be tutting when reading this and even when I read back myself I know it's wrong. I have just got a comparator but cannot remember how to use one I know that I need to take temp at the comp discharge Nd the temp from the evap entry but can't remember what to do next.

Do I subtract the two figures to get the superheat ? And how do they relate to the line on the comparator?

I do realise that this may shock people that I have lasted this long doing as I do but I am a decent engineer I can wire a controll circuit and strip a comp but this just seems to escape me and was just after a little guidance if possible

Thanks

frank
23-06-2012, 12:37 AM
Leon, I think that you might get some good information by reading this thread - it's aimed at helping newbies to understand the basics.