PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Airwell Chillers

In-My-Van
09-06-2012, 08:01 AM
I am a service engineer with 15 years experience on commercial fridge and a/c. My a/c experience is only with split a/c systems upto 12.5kw with the odd dx packaged unit upto 50kw. The other day i did a sight survey and came across an airwell AQH35 chiller providing 8 room's chilled/hot water via 8 cealing concealed FCU's. Each of the room FCU's had its own airwell controller. I am trying to get my head around how the control side works. There does not appear to be any electrical control connections between the FCU's and the Chiller. I assume the controller regulates the valve on the FCU and the load detected by the two sensors on the flow and return on the chiller, control when the chiller runs . The controller has the usual modes, cool, heat, fan, auto etc but i dont understand how it gets the chiller to change over from heating to cooling without a signal. Does the chiller its self have to be set into summer or winter mode ie cool or heat?

Mick13
09-06-2012, 08:13 AM
the chiller only chills, it doesnt heat. the fcu will have either a hot water coil hooked up to a boiler or an electric heater for heating. the chiller will generally cycle itself on chilled water temp.

In-My-Van
09-06-2012, 09:02 AM
The Airwell AQH is cooling and heating as its fitted with a four way valve

Nik BG
09-06-2012, 01:48 PM
Hi In-My-Van.